“On a path leading through

Dense woods in the dark

When I saw you at a distance

With yearning I started to walk

 

No, I didn’t fear the darkness

Or the mist slithering through trees

Or the crunching sound my feet made

On fallen and dried out leaves

 

Closing the distance between us

I reached out to hold your finger

Just like I used to do

At the time when I was younger

 

But in hesitation I just stood there

Holding your warm gaze

Those lines began to get clearer

That were blurred by the fresh daze

 

Realization dawned that if I tried

To touch you, you’ll disappear

This peaceful dream will twist

Into an everlasting nightmare

 

Then I’ll begin to fear the darkness

And the mist slithering through trees

Even the crunching sound my feet make

On fallen and dried out leaves”

 


Β©sakshi~the escapist, 2017


Image: Courtesy ofΒ Pixabay

Category:Β Poetry

45 thoughts on “The Mist

  1. Lovely description of the scene? “Or the mist slithering through trees”- lovely line. I am curious as why the character cannot touch this person. Is the person unreal or no more? A good food for thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful sakshi. I feel that this is a child recapturing the security that came from the grasping of the one finger of their father. A memory that as long as they held on they had no fear.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Haha, we both are from Panda Land, we have special talents you know πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
        Jokes apart, THANK YOU SO MUCH, this makes me respect you even more. 😊😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Realization dawned that if I try to touch you, you’ll disappear. This peaceful dream will twist into an everlasting nightmare. And I absolutely loved the ending, I’ll begin to fear even the crunching sound my feet makes on fallen and dried out leaves.. this somehow made me compare it with the outside world..that the writer feels safe in dreams and afraid to wake up and face the outside world.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I just let you know, though. You made me find it beautiful. I see the loss of loved ones, and the fear of losing the memories left to hold on to as well. I don’t know if that what you meant, of course, but that doesn’t really matter, does it:)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

