To a place called poem [#worldpoetryday]

To a place called poem

 

“I walked a mysterious road
To a wonderful place
There is so much to tell but I don’t know how
To put it in words or give it a face

Although, words were all
That mattered there
To breathe, to smell, to see
To feel and to hear

I wandered around
It was a place to explore
And kept asking myself
If anyone was here before

On the way back
I was gripped by desolation
Or it was a new wholeness
I could not form any notion

I am the same person
But somehow I am different
I feel something is altered
But I can’t put my finger on it

Forgive me, for I find it hard
To give you a glimpse
But believe me and see it for yourself
Then you will fathom my whims

I walked a mysterious road
To a place called poem
Though the change is little
See what I have become”

©sakshi~the escapist, 2017

Image: Pixabay

This poem was originally written for a poetry contest organised by VOWELOR on the occasion of World Poetry Day. With so many talented writers who had participated, I knew this poem couldn’t stand a chance 😄 But I enjoyed writing it and it was the first time I actually thought about participating in a poetry contest. I hope you enjoyed it as much!! Have a nice day!!

8 thoughts on “To a place called poem [#worldpoetryday]

Add yours

  1. Forgive me, for I find it hard to tell how much I enjoyed this. I’m not saying this here just to comment. If this is what poem is, I’m ready to take that road along with you. Beautiful depiction here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

