Watch Over You [short story, part #4]

Dear fellow bloggers, readers and writers. This post is in continuation of  Watch Over You #3. To understand the characters and the plot properly, you need to read all the previous parts. Feel free to give me your feedback in the comment section below. Enjoy!!

“I am sorry, you lost your father,” he said softly.

Nora smiled a sad smile and shook her head. “It was a long time ago,” she said. She didn’t want to talk about depressing stuff now. So she tried to lighten the mood. “So, be careful! If I died, I’ll come as a ghost to scare off your new girlfriends, if I don’t find them good enough for you.”

He held her face in his both hands and kissed her temple. “Only you can make a joke about something like that,” he said. He was smiling, but then his expression turned uneasy. “But don’t joke about you dying, okay? I am not ready to go there yet. Don’t think I’ll ever be.”

“Okay, I won’t,” she said. She rested her head on his shoulder. “Believe in miracles, Zayne,” she said in a soft and gentle voice. “I do. I think that’s what makes me keep going, even in my darkest times.”

“You keep surprising me, Nora, really,” Zayne said. She could hear the admiration in his voice.

“They watch over you too, you know,” Nora said after a while. They both were still looking towards the setting sun which was now turning the sky into beautiful orange glow.

He remained silent for a moment and then sighed heavily, “You’re talking about my mom and dad.” It wasn’t a question.

“Yeah,” she said. He went back to being silent again. She knew what was going through his mind. “It’s okay to miss your family, Zayne,” she said. “You miss them because you loved them. It doesn’t make you weak to feel sad about their deaths. It’s what makes you human.”

“I know,” he said softly. “I know, Nora. And I want to believe you. I want to believe that they are here, and they always…..,” he sighed.

“And they always watch over you,” Nora finished for him.

“Yeah,” he said in a serene voice and they both continued watching the sun.

She didn’t know how much time had passed since she left Zayne sleeping at home. She should be home with him. She got up and started walking towards her house. After taking a few steps, she stopped. The old lady, who had helped her in the morning, was at the park with her dog. She was sitting on the bench and her dog was sitting nearby on the grass. She had its leash in one hand and her mobile phone in the other, and she was typing something. Nora decided to go and thank her for her help. Though she couldn’t understand why, but she was in a hurry in the morning. So she couldn’t thank the old lady properly. She made her way towards her and sat on the bench with her on her left side………TO BE CONTINUED

©sakshi~the escapist, 2017

Image: Pixabay

6 thoughts on “Watch Over You [short story, part #4]

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

